Blogging bubbles burst

I, Monk Monkey, will now speak to you from his heart – his monkey heart, full of tasty courage and well-meaning hearty goodness.

I started my first blog in 2009 (I think). I got two page views over a year or more of dedicated service (keep in mind this was before blogs were cool). I didn’t care, though. Oh, and no, I am not sharing the URL but the first person who finds it and gives me page view number three wins a banana.
I started my next blog about 13 months ago. I built up a lot of page views and hits and page views and follows and hits and I loved it…until I didn’t care anymore.
Then I started this humble blog.

But ah! how the last year has changed things!

A year ago, I had no real acquaintances (being a monk and a monkey does not make thee popular be). I was cool with that. But then, a man named…let’s call him ‘Kris’…found my blog. He commented a few times and was really really funny. I felt a real connection to Kris. Like two birds of a feather (PS: I REALLY HATE THAT SAYING!) Once, Kris reblogged one of my posts. That introduced me to ‘Loren’ and to ‘Mad-D.’
Loren was hilarious too. Mad-D was so nice to me. She read my blog religiously and I hers. But the thing is, these three people liked me as a person too! They emailed me, messaged me, tweeted me…Loren even called me! I was actually getting ready to say I, A LONELY MONK HAVE NEW FRIENDS! Woo!
Then, the blog world opened even more. I met ‘Beck’ (not the singer guy), ‘Sister John’, ‘Jenn,’ ‘urunubreathe,’ ‘Viv,’ ‘O’Callaghan’ and more. We read each other’s stuff and commented on each other’s stuff. I even re-opened my MonkBook account for the first time in two years to get to know them better.

I was in cyber heaven. They were all so lovely and happy and made me feel so nice!

Then…

Circumstances meant Kris sort of stopped blogging, Loren sort of did, Jenn sort of did, Mad-D sort of did, ururnubreathe sort of did, Viv definitely did… O’Callaghan kept to his usual routine and Sister John never stopped blogging, but he changed the design of his blog which threw me a little bit…

About this time I was very busy writing monk pamphlets and designing monkey games and I started going to AJU (Australian Jungle University)…so I had almost zero time to spend online. ZERO! I WAS LEFT…ALL ALONE!!! I couldn’t be bothered posting, commenting, reading, or answering awards posts giving me awards with a post accepting those awards.

MY BLOGGING BUBBLE HAD BUR-UR-UR-URST!!!!!

banana

Until…this week! I had a bit of time to blog! And so did Kris, Loren, Beck, WOW Mad-D was back and just as lovely after a while away, and John didn’t stop again! IT FELT SO 2012! AND I LIKED IT!

Maybe I’m not as burst as I thought…

So what was the point of all that? I don’t know – go have a beer in the shower and think about it. Or go on Katie Curic and think about it. Or write a book about zombies and think about it. Or ship 1000 second-hand books in the post and think about it. Or wear a fake mustache and think about it. Or go to the toilet in the woods and think about it. Or run a marathon while thinking about it. Just think about it!!! And tell me what you think it means!!!

THANK YOU TO ALL MY BLOGGING FRIENDS FOR STILL EXISTING AND NOT STOPPING BEING WONDERFUL PEOPLE AND YOU ARE ALL TERRIFIC, EVEN KRIS! ALL YOU WHO ARE SLOWLY BECOMING MY NEW FRIENDS HALLELUJAH TO YOU, TOO!!! ONE DAY I WILL WRITE SOMETHING SOPPY ABOUT YOU! I PROMISE! IN THE WOODS WITH MY PANTS DOWN!

AMEN!

35 thoughts on “Blogging bubbles burst

  1. I am sooo glad this wasn’t a “farewell – my monk monkey bubble burst, so I am taking my bananas and going home” post. I would be sad beyond belief if you closed up the Monkestry, Monk Monkey. I love your shiny head, your pretty purple clothing, and your “ooh face” that is puckered for a kiss. My heart would break should you go back to the jungle, leaving me to pine for you.

    In other news, there is a Bigfoot in my next book. Are monkeys related to Bigfoot? Do you have any secret insider information for me? Do you think they have supernatural powers and can simply disappear when they are spotted? Do they really eat Cracker Jacks? OOH! Do they eat dingos who eat babies?

    xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxxxxxoxoxoxoxoxo — I slipped a couple extra kisses in there for you.

  2. You are the sweetest. I think we all go through waves, and I’m pleased that we all come back. Thank you for writing this, my monkey friend! LET’S KEEP IT 2012ish!

  3. Yeah, I get sad too when people I get to know and like reading from drop off the scene for a while, but blogging takes up a lot of time, and I guess everyone has their own lives. Keep it up, you crazy Monk Monkey, you! You’re not alone.

What you wanna say to Monk Monkey?

